What Lies Behind Hope and Blessings For the Taiwanese Identity

img_5319

Within the Taiwanese culture, people worship their ancestors or parts of nature in temples such as these,  as a way to receive blessings all throughout their lives. (Taipei, Taiwan) Photo  by Esther Lu Copy Right 2016.

This research paper was one of the first dives that I took into exploring what it meant to be Taiwanese American. The translation aspect of this paper involved understanding the socio-cultural context of translating a poem from Taiwanese-Mandarin into American English.

Taking this Translation Theory course literally changed my perspective on how I understood my own identity in seeking the spaces where I translate my daily world in my own upbringing of a 1st generation Taiwanese immigrant home.

Check out my work here: estherlu-translation_final_paper

As always, let me know your thoughts on the topic or my paper.

Preview: 

Blessing’s Touch 幸福的滋味

 by Jimmy Liao 幾米

 

1 Even after , we did not feel the need to speak anymore

後來, 我們甚至不再說話了。

2 No longer did we open our eyes

不再睜開眼睛。

 

3 We did not even (need to) wonder what the other one was doing or to ask what the other one was thinking. 不再在乎對方在做什麼, 想什麼?

4 Even after, we fell asleep,

後來, 我們甚至睡著了,

 

5 blessings are not aware of sleeping

幸福地不知不覺地睡著了。

6 and as we were tossing in the midst of each other’s dreams

我們在彼此的夢中,

 

7 Our blessings ever so slightly awoke

幸福的慢慢醒來。

 

 


If you would like to cite or use my work for any purpose 

Please email me at : estherlu94@gmail.com

You don’t need to email me if you reblog this post on WordPress or to other sites.

 

Leave a Reply

